truehope no hype

This blog is in response to the blog posted at

http://intentions.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/truehope-or-truehype-an-analysis-of-empower/ .

I do take the Truehope supplement EMPowerplus and I do have a PhD.  I thought I would counter some of Jane’s arguments.

First, according to my reading of Adele Davis’s books (Adele Davis was a dietitian who was writing in the 50’s and 60’s.), the B vitamins must be in balance for the body to function well.  There are several B vitamins and the B vitamins are water soluble.  If I remember what I read correctly, one can get an unbalance of the B vitamins by taking too much of one or more of the B vitamins and too little of others  So, if one can get an unbalance of the B vitamins by taking too much of any of them, the idea that one can get the correct balance of B vitamins just by taking any old multivitamin in false.  One has to be careful about the balance of B vitamins that one takes in.  Adele Davis wrote that some of the B vitamins are very expensive and are not put into the over the counter multivitamins at the level that is necessary for health.

Adele Davis was concerned that we modern people do not eat as much as our predecessors, because we do not do as much manual labor, so we do not need as much food and, as a result, we do not get as much of the micro nutrients from our food as our predecessors.  She was also concerned that micro nutrients were being processed out of our food by the food industry, out of a desire of the industry to give us cheap food that does not spoil.

Second, a quite high percentage of those who develop mental illness recover spontaneously.  So, even though Jane believes she was able to recover using meditation, she may be one of those who would have recovered spontaneously, anyway.

Third, Truehope tried to do a double blind study of the effectiveness of EMPowerplus in treating the Bipolar disorder, but the restrictions on who could be included were so strict that the researchers could not get enough subjects to do the study.  I am a statistician, so I know a little about the design of experiments, and I wonder who designed the experiment.  In order to be included in the study, a subject had to have a diagnosis of bipolar disorder, could not be on any medications, could not be a user of alcohol or drugs, and, I believe, over 17 years old.  Where would you find such a person in this day of psychotropic medications?

Fourth, Jane questions how two hog farmers in Canada could know enough to find the correct balance of vitamins to treat mental illness.  I do too.  The question one might ask is why would researchers who worked with vitamins and developed a supplement that cured mental illness, at least for some people, make up such a story.

My guess is that research was done, and the story was made up to get the supplement out to the public.  With so many claims being made for so many health products out there, the public is skeptical.  The good story was able to get many people to try the supplement.

Also, there is much less money to be made in vitamins than in patentable pharmaceuticals, so the big pharmaceutical companies are not really interested in researching vitamin cures.  I appreciate what the research of pharmaceutical companies has done for me.  I am not languishing on a back ward of a mental hospital (my last diagnosis was paranoid schizophrenia).  Instead,  I have been able to continue on with my life, because of the help of the psychotropic medications that the pharmaceutical companies have developed.  But, there are huge amounts of monies tied up in the development and sale of psychotropic medicines these days.

Jane writes about hope.  I am a Recovery International (http://www.lowselfhelpsystems.org) leader.  I know the power of the mind and hope.  I, also, know that, even with 29 years of experience practicing Recovery (which I recommend to anyone with emotional or mental illness), I was not able to manage my illness without medication.  I had my original psychotic breakdown in 1977, so I have had problems quite awhile.

My illness progressed over the years and, in 2006, I had a bad experience on one of the medicines my doctor tried me on.  I felt very helpless and quite hopeless.

In May of 2007, I began taking the EMPowerplus supplement.  Like many others with the diagnosis of schizophrenia, I have been dealing with psychosis as my medications have been lowered (and, I might say, “like I wasn’t before?”), which I am doing under the care of my doctor.  But, unlike under the influence of the anti-psychotic medications, I have energy, my memory is better, my mood is better, I can get up in the morning, sometimes I can feel emotionally and sensually like I have not been able to in years, I am comfortable in social situations (which I have never been) and I am enjoying life quite a bit (I haven’t enjoyed life since I was a small child).  I also feel like I am finally working through my paranoia and psychosis rather than trying to medicate the stuff in my mind away, and that I will get the craziness under control.

Managing my illness with vitamins and minerals is different from managing the illness using anti-psychotics and other anti medicines, but I would not go back and I hope for a full recovery.

Margot

11 thoughts on “truehope no hype

  1. Hi there Margot.

    I enjoyed reading your rebuttal. Some thoughts.

    Firstly, I agree with most of Adele’s claims. I don’t agree that we don’t do as much manual labor as in the past as a generalization. There are quite a few professions where that is the case especially in academia but that is not the norm for everyone. The material goods that move around the world are made in the blue collar industry and I can assure you as one of the worker caste for many years that working with your entire body for ten hours a day, six days a week is considerably more activity then your average help desk employee ever receives.

    After that we are talking about diet. If you eat corn beef hash from the can and love McDonald’s then you are probably short changing yourself significantly. If you are willing to do your shopping at Whole Foods or Trader Joes then you are getting better food that is not processed into uselessness.

    Another thought on B vitamins is that it’s not an exact science for a consumer. Most people are so out of touch with their body that the idea that they can sense when they are beginning to get low on a specific vitamin is just ridiculous. Some can but not most. That means most folks are not going to notice unless there is something really wrong.

    In any event you would need your own medical team to evaluate your vitamin requirements on a day to day basis. We don’t have a diabetic sugar monitor-like device for people to check their vitamin levels with whenever they want. Most people don’t have that so using supplements is hit or miss guesswork for most people. If they get a positive result when they try something new they naturally make the connection due to correlation.

    As far as our bodies inability to extract nutrients. Most of that is nutritional hype and pseudoscience. Unless you have a genetic condition that causes your intestines to be unable to digest food properly then you have nothing to worry about. If you think you are one of those with that kind of disorder you can get a medical test to find out.

    The idea that we are all walking around with intestines that can’t extract nutrients is nutritional scare language used to sell supplements. The current science shows that our intestines are quite well adapted to extracted nutrients from food just fine and they do so very effectively, chelating and absorbing everything useful from whatever we put in our stomachs unless we have medical condition that prevents that.

    The idea that old timers ate better than we do now is another myth. While it’s true that produce and cereals were not processed the way they are now we have a much greater knowledge about nutrition and diet these days then they ever had back then. Only the upper and middle class had access to varieties of food and they liked their meats and sweets. The bulk of peasantry or lower class people ate very simple foods with a primary staple like rice or turnips and very little variation.

    While I am generalizing and certainly some cultures in some some societies probably ate a healthy variety when it was available it was not always so and by analyzing skeletons preserved in peat bogs or mummies we can determine that old timers had all sorts of nutritional deficiencies.

    That lack of nutrition and the mediocrity of their diets manifested in shorter stature at maturity and all manner of growth problems as well as susceptibility to nutrition related diseases. Today our kids grow big and tall and go through puberty much earlier in part due to the greater more varied food supply and vitamin enriched products providing an abundance of energy and materials needed to grow and develop swiftly.

    As for my recovery being due to spontaneous remission and not meditation as I claimed well consider this. Mental illness runs rampant in the maternal side of my family. I would be so lucky that bipolar, schizophrenia and ptsd together magically vanished while no one else in my family in thirty years had a similar remission. What are the odds of that really? Very unlikely.

    In recent years neuroscientists have blamed an underdeveloped prefrontal cortex as being possibly responsible for why people with bipolar or schizophrenia have emotional dysregulation as you can see in this link here

    http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cache:Aojfna4sSuAJ:unisci.com/stories/20021/0129021.htm+prefrontal+cortex+schizophrenia&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

    and I quote:

    “The scans were taken while patients performed an abstract reasoning/working memory task that activates the prefrontal cortex. As in previous studies, the patients showed reduced prefrontal activation and performed poorly on the task, suggesting disturbed functioning of that part of the brain.
    Also consistent with previous findings, patients’ striatal dopamine activity was abnormally elevated. In patients, but not in controls, the researchers observed a tight coupling and highly significant inverse correlation between these two abnormalities, suggesting that they share a “common pathophysiological mechanism.”
    The striking linkage is likely traceable to a primary dysfunction of the prefrontal cortex, argue the investigators, who cite basic science findings that dopamine activity in the striatum is under the control of the prefrontal area. Stimulating or inhibiting this area affects firing of striatal neurons and dopamine release.”

    Meditation on the other hand has been shown to have a profoundly positive effect on the prefrontal cortex. The area of the brain responsible for emotional processing.

    http://www.crystalinks.com/medbrain.html

    and I quote:

    “Some studies of meditation have linked the practice to increased activity in the left prefrontal cortex, which is associated with concentration, planning, meta-cognition (thinking about thinking), and positive affect (good feelings). There are similar studies linking depression and anxiety with decreased activity in the same region, and/or with dominant activity in the right prefrontal cortex.
    Meditation increases activity in the left prefrontal cortex, and the changes are stable over time – even if you stop meditating for a while, the effect lingers.”

    and another article: http://www.motleyhealth.com/eastern_health_and_fitness/meditation-health-and-the-fitness-mindset

    and I quote:

    “Meditation works because of the relationship between the amygdala and the prefrontal cortex. In very simple terms, the amygdala is the part of the brain that decides if we should get angry or anxious (among other things), and the pre-frontal cortex is the part that makes us stop and think about things (it is also known as the inhibitory centre.”

    Spontaneous is a word we can play semantics with only to a point. Spontaneous in terms of chemical reactions can happen in seconds. Spontaneous remission as used in evaluating medical conditions can be as long as several days to week.

    My problems took several years to go away before they left me for good. Unless humans lived to be four hundred years old there is no way we can stretch the word spontaneous to refer to a four or five year period when we are talking the how long it takes for a condition to remit.

    When compared to the fact that I alone of my family resorted to prefrontal cortex building strategies and I alone experienced a remission over the course of years shoots the word ‘spontaneous’ would hardly be appropriate or accurate. Based on the evidence in all likelihood working on strengthening my prefrontal cortex was directly responsible to gaining mastery of my moods and thoughts.

    On to your third point. I agree it’s a tough trial to conduct. We want proper evidence based research done according to strict scientific protocols. The fact that it’s hard to find a large enough population of undrugged bipolar sufferers to experiment supplements on has more to do with the nature of mental health treatment and our brainwashed culture than anything to do with the experimental requirements.

    On to your fourth point. I am not a statistician or particularly good at math but I was able to google phrases like “amount consumers spent on medications” and “amount consumers spent on supplements”

    I found figures like 250 billion dollars in one year for medicines but they don’t say how much of that is spent on psych meds in particular and there are a lot of medicines out there.

    I found figures like 50 billion dollars in alternative supplements but they dont say how much of that is spent on vitamins and there are a lot of supplements out there.

    250 billion is a lot more than 50 billion but 50 billion dollars is not a small number. There is a market for vitamins and it’s very competitive and that’s why there is so much hype and pseudoscience surrounding the vitamin supplementation business. You have to scare people into believing they need what you are selling.

    The marketing geniuses over at Truehope use memes that while not accurate are easy for the masses to latch on to. With Big Pharma they tell you that you are chemical imbalanced and that their drug fixes it. Truehope tells you that you genetically unable to extract nutrients and that you need more than others and that they have the perfect supplements. It’s a very successful strategy even though it is completely dishonest.

    As for vitamins being a cure for anything. Science has shown that vitamin C is a cure for scurvy and that scurvy is a disease caused by a real deficiency. There is no science at all anywhere whatsoever that proves that schizophrenia or bipolar are caused by deficiencies of vitamins. None. To claim that big Pharma isnt interested in vitamin cures is intellectually dishonest. You can get vitamins by prescription just by asking your doctor. Big Pharma makes vitamin C and sells it and that’s a cure for scurvy. Big Pharma is not going sell multivitamins and claim they can cure mental illness because there is no evidence mental illness is based on vitamin deficiencies.

    The onus to prove nutritional deficiency claims for the cause of mental illness is on the people making the claim. It’s not enough to hold up a person like Linus Pauling or Adele Davis and say “Our product reflects their theories” and leave it at that.

    Big Pharma has claimed for the last three decades that mental illness is all just chemical imbalances. ‘Chemical imbalance’ is a completely nebulous term used by them without having proving exactly what specific chemicals are imbalanced and how that leads to a diseased state. That has been a scientific responsibility that big pharma has utterly failed to come through with despite the fact that the human genome was decoded years ago.

    Likewise claiming that bipolar or schizophrenia is a vitamin deficiency requires that the people making that claim proves exactly what specific vitamins are imbalanced and how that leads to to a diseased state. That has not been proven by Truehope or anyone else peddling vitamins.

    In my opinion a person is not thinking critically enough if they take those kinds of claims at face value without saying to themselves “Oh? Really?” or feel the need to rationalize their marketing strategies or apologize for corporations on account that they haven’t shown incontrovertible evidence which proves the claims they make.

    I am glad you seem to be doing so much better right now. It would be neat if we could do a real scientific experiment on you which would be to substitute your Empower with a placebo without you knowing about it. I would be very interested to know if your symptoms came back when you are unaware that your not getting your vitamins. That would quickly tells us if the magic was in the vitamin or in your mind.

    If it was in the vitamin then you are in a great position to experiment on yourself. Having proved that something in the supplement was necessary to your mental stability we would want to do a process of elimination in order to find out which vitamin you really needed. If we could find that out that would be real science and possibly a real breakthrough in understanding the role of vitamins and minerals to mental illness. Unfortunately neither of those experiments are likely to happen so you are forever left guessing what exactly it is that your brain needs to function that it seems to be getting out of empower.

    Regards,
    Jane

    • Hi Jane,

      Thank you for your reply. I do not mean to imply that meditation is not a good and helpful thing to do, and I am glad it has helped you. Here are some comments on your reply to my reply.

      First, $50 billion divided by the .3 billion people in this country (assuming the $50 billion is for the US only) is $166 each, not a lot of money in these days.

      Second, I am not sure how you got lack of absorption in the intestines out of my comments on your blog, but researchers have found an higher incidence of bowel problems in persons with mental illness than in the general population. I, personally, have had an irritable bowel since my late teens. As a statistician, I know that just having a correlation between two events (mental illness and irritable bowel) does not imply a causal relationship between the two. One needs to find the mechanism of a cause to establish causality in the case of observational studies. I am not familiar enough with the research in mental illness to say what has and has not been established causally.

      Third, according to Adele Davis, B vitamin imbalances and deficiencies show up as changes in the lips, facial skin, and tongue, so one can get some idea if the B vitamins are getting out of balance by looking in the mirror. But, I agree, we need doctors that can help us balance our B vitamins.

      Fourth, we have an epidemic of mental health problems in our country and we do not get as many vitamins and minerals in our food as in the past. Certainly, we live better than our ancestors, but I suspect that our bodies evolved to need a certain level of vitamins and minerals to function properly and that most of us are not be getting enough of those vitamins and minerals from our food. Once again, correlation does not imply cause. We need to establish a causal link.

      Fifth, I have been reading, since I wrote my blog a few weeks ago, books by Abram Hoffer, who has done extensive research in and has extensive clinical experience treating schizophrenia. He, also, says that the brains of schizophrenics are different from the brains of persons who do not have schizophrenia and believes that the cause is probably genetic. However, he suspects that we persons with schizophrenia develop the disease because of a genetic reduced ability to synthesize niacin in the body from our food. His treatment regimen includes vitamins and he has had a lot of success curing schizophrenia, working over years with patients. He says that before psychotropic medicine, the spontaneous recovery (that is people who have the illness for a while, then recover on their own) rate for schizophrenia was about 50%, and that now, with our medicines, the rate is about 10%. He is not against all psychotropic medicines, but has found that, for schizophrenia, he gets cures using vitamins where there are not cures using anti-psychotics, just maintenance. His description of the progress of the disease for persons treated with anti-psychotics is similar to what has happened in my life. I have had the illness for 33 years, now. Personally, in the last week, I added niacin to my diet and my mind has settled right down. While Dr. Hoffer does not fault our modern diet as being responsible for schizophrenia, his experience does indicate that vitamins can play an important role in mental health.

      Sixth, vitamins are chemicals. They cure a chemical imbalance.

      Seventh, Big Pharma, as you call it, is BIG!!!! much bigger than $250 billion a year. The food industry is huge, too. And, I live in a farm state. The food industry is very important to this state.

      Eighth, Truehope says they are providing the medicine at (economic) cost. I believe them.

      Thank you for taking the time to reply to my blog. I am glad you are doing well. As Dr. Low, the founder of Recovery, wrote, the symptoms of mental illness are torture. We do need double blind studies on vitamins.

      Margot

    • Hi Jane,

      Thanks for your reply.

      What may surprise you is that scientists are really doing the real science that you say you think we should do. Some have devoted their lives to research on the brain. I am afraid that most of the money for research, however, is in patentable medicines and vitamins and minerals are not patentable.

      From what I have read about mental illness, spontaneous recovery just means a recovery from the illness within 5 or 10 years without explanation. Which is not to say that meditation is not helpful. However, even in societies for which meditation is standard, there is mental illness. My personal doctor is from India, yet she is a psychiatrist.

      I read Abram Hoffer’s book, Healing Schizophrenia, these last few days, and you are wrong. He did do double blind studies on his treatment of schizophrenia and found his treatment works better than using tranquilizers. His treatment involves vitamins, mainly niacin, and is a treatment that actually heals schizophrenia, rather than maintains the patient in a somewhat comfortable, but not optimal state. He was able to cure or significantly improve the lives of over 5,000 patients. He is now in his 90’s.

      Dr. Hoffer wrote in the book that the rate of incidence of schizophrenia for children of two parents with schizophrenia is 85% and with one schizophrenic parent, 35%. So, one would expect at least one of your parents’ children to be okay, though you were sick for awhile. I do not mean to minimize the effort and success that you have put into and had in your recovery, but I do not think meditation is the one and only way to cure mental illness, nor do I think meditation would work for everyone.

      Dr. Hoffer writes about the pre-frontal cortex. From what I understood from the book, the damage to the pre-frontal cortex is from the anti-psychotics that we take, rather than the disease, but I may have read that wrong.

      I suspect that Dr. Hoffer and Truehope have it right, that some of us need more of certain vitamins than we can get in our food. Certainly, my physical processes have improved in the last 2 3/4 years I have been taking Empowerplus capsules. My memory is better, my hair is shinier, and I have a lot more energy. And, with the addition of niacin (which I have only used for a week or so), my psychotic symptoms have gone from megaphone intensity to quiet voices, so I think there is something to Hoffer’s theories and experience. I think that the time on the Truehope vitamins/minerals got my body in good enough shape so that working with Hoffer’s recommendations should clear up my illness. However, I have no knowledge of bio-chemistry and can say nothing about why vitamins work. But my experience, so far, is that they do make a big difference.

      As to intestines, I do not anything about intestines and absorption, but bowel problems are present with mental illness more often than in the general population. Apparently, many people with schizophrenia and other mental illnesses have problems with dairy and/or gluten, which may be why there is so much in the way of bowel problems. According to Hoffer and others, sometimes removing a type of food from a patient’s diet will get rid of the mental illness, where the particular food varies from person to person.

      As to Adele Davis and her theories, most people, in our society, do not eat as much as our ancestors, so, if we need a certain level of vitamins to be healthy and we are eating less, because we are burning less, then we will need to either, as you recommend, take nutrition into account when we choose our foods, or we will have to take supplements.

      On a math note, $50 billion spread around 300 million people for a year works out to $13.89 a month per person. $250 billion is 5 times that.

      We are learning more about the bio-chemistry of our bodies all of the time. Googling Truehope, the number of people with pages where they tell of how Truehope has helped them is large, most certainly because the Truehope supplements do help. Perhaps your family has had a bad experience with vitamins.

      Take care,
      Margot

  2. Thought I would add my experiences of the last few months. In part of April and part of May, I tried going completely off of Zyprexa and managing my illness only with Empower-plus capsules, niacin, and other B vitamins, as well as some C. I did not follow Dr. Hoffer’s recommendations, rather, I tried to work out what would work for me.

    At the end of March, I was sick from a norovirus. The first day I was sick, I only drank juice and did not eat. I took no meds or supplements. I stayed in bed all day. I had been having trouble sleeping, being wound up after taking a 2.5 Mg’s of buspirone and Zyprexa at night. The night after I came down with the norovirus, I slept solidly, even though I had rested all day and had taken no meds or supplements. My conclusion – my meds were winding me up. I suspect the main culprit was the buspirone, since when I stopped the buspirone, I slept better. A week or two later, I decided to go off of the Zyprexa, too. I had been slowly ramping the Empower-plus and niacin up again over the two weeks or so.

    I spent much of April and the first part of May completely out of my head, but kept functioning and was gradually feeling better and coming back to reality. I suppose I was able to Keep functioning because of my Recovery training. As I continued to take more niacin, I am now taking 3000 mg’s a day, my mind, mood and memory got better and my psychosis decreased, up to a certain point, and then I began to disintegrate

    My husband – who is in the processes of retiring from a 40 year career with a power company – came down with pancreatitus – and was in the hospital for 8 days at the beginning of May. He went into the hospital on April 28th. He is still recovering. It was a terror for me dealing with his illness and my own.

    I, finally, took the advice of my doctor and went back on some Zyprexa. I am now taking 7.5 Mg’s, at night. The Zyprexa has pulled me out of my craziness, but I am starting to have some of the symptoms of confusion and difficulty reading coming back. However, my apologies to the pharmaceutical industry for any suggestion that their research and the drugs that they have developed are not life savers.

    Why was I not successful? I think, first, I took things too fast and was not monitored closely by a physician who was familiar with the treatment. Second, my husband’s retirement and serious illness are a great stress. I, also, feel that I have been intentionally and severely attached psychically, though such beliefs are part of my illness. My doctor thought the Zyprexa in my system had cleared out pretty much by the middle of May and that the lack of an anti-psychotic in my system contributed to the problem. I tend to agree with her.

    Anyway, I still think the niacin is very helpful – Empowerplus too – and hope for a good recovery and being able to reduce the Zyprexa as I settle down. Dr. Hoffer only found a 50% recovery rate for chronic schizophrenics, which I am – having been under the care of a psychiatrist for the last 33 years. He had more success with acute patients – a 90% recovery rate, I think.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Margot

    • Hi Jane,

      My story has not ended yet. I have expanded the nutritional supplements that I take and am getting better by the day. I am still on some Zyprexa, which is a live saver, but seems to cause confusion, loss of short term memory, and pain. I hope to someday be able to get off of the medicine. It is an up and down battle, but I think I am making progress. My mind is much better, except for memory, I am much more comfortable socially, and my paranoia is starting to ease up.

      I now take 12 Empowerplus (Truehope’s supplement) capsules, 4.5 g’s of Niacinamide, 600 mg’s of B2, 500 mg’s of B6, 600 UI’s of E, 2 g’s of C, 1 capsule of a B vitamin complex, 400 mg’s of B1, 500 mg’s of Pantothenic Acid, 500 mcg’s of B 12, 400 mcg’s of Folic Acid, 5000 mcg’s of Biotin, and 1 Tablespoon of Lecithin, along with non-hydrogenated oil, per day, as well as 7.5 mg’s of Zyprexa. It’s a bit much, but it seems to be doing the trick.

      Thanks for your invite.

      Margot

  3. Hi Margot –

    I found you via your response to Jane’s post about Empower. Thanks so much for writing such a thorough rebuttal to her (quite misinformed and misleading) take on it. I too use Empower with great success in my own treatment regimen, after having no luck with a multitude of vitamins, herbs, etc. And the way I see it, if it’s helping me and not harming my health (unlike the grievous harm done by psychotropic drugs), why question it? It provided much needed relief in my most desperate moments, and continues to provide a foundation from which to sort out what I’m experiencing. (And, to Jane’s point about the company’s claims that it’s needed long term – well, if at any point I feel like I no longer need it, well then, I have the choice to stop! The Truehope folks actually backed me up on this when I asked, and cited many people who had gone down to much lower doses over time.) 🙂

    I hope you’re journey is going well and that you are able to get where you want to with med withdrawal, etc.

    Take care,
    Natalie

    • Hi Natalie,

      I wrote a reply a week or so ago, but the reply disappeared. I’ll try again.

      Thank you for your nice comments.

      I am currently working with the Pfeiffer Treatment Center just west of Chicago and am doing quite well. The Truehope supplements got me started on the managing of mental illness through supplements, but, either, with my illness or my having a doctor who would not decrease my level of medication when Truehope recommended the reduction, I was struggling on the program. I started with Pfeiffer last September. I take supplements specific to me, determined blood and urine tests, and I am also on quite a restricted rotation diet based on food sensitivity tests. Both the supplements and the diet have made a huge difference. I am afraid I am still stuck on some Zyprexa. I am hoping I will be able to reduce my dose, since the drug is a mind and emotion destroyer.

      I am glad you are doing well. From what I have read, those with bipolar disorder do well with the Truehope supplements. And, without Truehope and their message board, I would not have found out about Pfeiffer, for which I will always be grateful.

      Glad you are doing well.

      Margot

  4. Been using truehope supplements since May of 2002 and no meds since then. I was dx’d BP 1 with psychotic features in 1994 after psychotic break. Each time I tried going off meds I had a break, fortunately truehope did work for me and am now adopting a 5 yr old who’s been with me 3 yrs. so I too am a happy truehope customer.

Leave a Reply

