Comment on a book review in the July 16th, 2011, Economist

In the July 16th issue of the Economist, the book, Adventures in the Orgasmatron: How the Sexual Revolution Came to America, by Christopher Turner, published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, was reviewed.  I got around to writing my comment too late for comments to be posted at the Economist website, so here my comment is.  In the review, the 20th century psychoanalyst, Wilhelm Reich, is described as a doctor who believed that sexual repression was the cause of societal problems, for example, pre-WWII totalitarianism in Europe and the subsequent Nazi holocaust.  In my life, I do not remember hearing about Reich and I have never read any of Reich’s works, but I have read  Tolstoy, Hardy, Wharton, Lawrence, Flaubert, Dreiser, Fowles, Hawthorne, Cather, McCullers, J. West, Shaw, plus numerous romances and historical romances, science fiction novels and stories, detective stories,  and, I am sure, other relevant authors whom I cannot remember (Collette, Fielding, H. Miller, Nin, Hemingway, Genet).

Leave a Reply

